California / Local permit guide
Santa Ana Solar Permit Guide
Your local requirements. The official sources. A clearer next step.
- Permit authority
- City of Santa Ana Building Safety DivisionSource linked
- Electric utility
- Southern California Edison (SCE)Source linked
- Local pathway
- SolarAPP+ (automated solar plan review)Project-specific eligibility conditions apply.
- Review time
- Not yet verified.See source scope and conditions below.
Orange County · Explore related utility guides
Jump to a section
Planning a new solar project? See the homeowner quote option →
Research coverage
Your permit path,
at a glance.
This shows what GridPermit has verified for Santa Ana. It does not show the status of a specific project.
Paid referral disclosure: GridPermit has a paid referral relationship with CompareSolarPrices. If you use this link and later complete a qualifying action, GridPermit may receive compensation.
Want a solar quote after reviewing the permit requirements in Santa Ana?
Continue to CompareSolarPrices to request a homeowner solar quote for Santa Ana.
Have a recent electricity bill ready. CompareSolarPrices will ask you to confirm your contact details and receipt of its quote. Submit those details only on its website, not to GridPermit.
You will continue on CompareSolarPrices' website. GridPermit is not the installer.
01 / Know your path
Two approvals.
One project.
A local permit and utility permission to operate are different approvals. Check the local sequence and requirements below.
How to read this guide
GridPermit collects California residential solar and permitting facts directly from official sources (city, county, and state government sites, utilities, and public utilities commissions) and shows only what we can verify, with a confidence score and a link to where it came from. Nothing here is estimated or inferred beyond what's stated below. See our methodology for the rules this page follows.
Permit timeline
Not yet verified.
The city's own page describes SolarAPP+ as providing instant plan review, with revision requests 'processed within 72 business hours,' but does not state an overall submission-to-final-inspection timeline. No specific day range is recorded since none was directly stated for the full permit-to-completion process.
Sources & confidence
Battery/solar incentive program on record
California SGIP - current category and budget check required
New applications and waitlist applications for ratepayer-funded SGIP budgets closed on December 30, 2025. New AB 209 applications have a June 30, 2028 deadline. The 2026 SGIP rate table publishes $3.10/W for solar and $1.10/Wh for storage in applicable Residential Solar and Storage Equity categories. Household eligibility and live budget availability vary by category and program administrator; check the official Program Metrics tracker before relying on an incentive.
Status on file: unknown. Verify current status before relying on this.
Sources & confidence
02 / Prepare your application
What you need.
Sources & confidence
Permit fees
Some supporting official material could not be independently confirmed from the full source in GridPermit's latest review. Verify the current requirement with the authority before relying on it.
Not yet verified.
Rebates on record
Rebates on record
Not yet verified.
Utility and generation supplier
Utility
Southern California Edison (SCE)
The City of Santa Ana's own official resident FAQ, 'How do I set up electricity service?', directs residents to Southern California Edison for electric service setup.
Sources & confidence
Generation supplier
Southern California Edison (SCE) (utility)
Orange County Power Authority's (OCPA) own official FAQ page explicitly lists its current member cities as Buena Park, Fullerton, and Irvine, with Fountain Valley 'beginning service soon' — Santa Ana is not among them. A secondary source (a chamber-of-commerce blog post) claimed Santa Ana had joined OCPA alongside Irvine/Fullerton/Huntington Beach/Buena Park, but this directly contradicts OCPA's own current, authoritative member list and was not used as evidence per this project's rule against using non-official sources as factual evidence. No other Orange County CCA serving Santa Ana was found, so SCE is recorded as both the distribution and generation utility.
Sources & confidence
Interconnection
Not yet verified.
Inspection steps
- Contractor must have the SolarAPP+ approval and printed permit available on-site
- Inspectors may request additional plans if needed
- Inspections are scheduled through the city's separate inspection-scheduling system
Sources & confidence
Eligibility constraints
- Property types: single-family dwelling, duplex, accessory dwelling unit (ADU), permitted residential structures
- Max system size (AC): Not yet verified.
- Max system size (DC): Not yet verified.
- Max thermal capacity: Not yet verified.
- Program/pathway: SolarAPP+ (automated solar plan review)
- Other conditions:
- Ballasted systems are excluded
- Electrical storage devices (batteries) cannot be visible from public streets and require Planning Division approval for screening
- Fire detection and smoke alarms required per Fire Code where applicable
- Only licensed, SolarAPP+-registered contractors may apply; permit runners are prohibited
- Effective June 1, 2026, all residential solar projects will only be issued permits upon SolarAPP+ approval
Sources & confidence
Official contacts
Official contacts
- City of Santa Ana Building Safety Division, phone: (714) 647-5800, official website
- City of Santa Ana Building Inspections, phone: (714) 667-2738, official website
Official sources
Official sources
- How do I set up electricity service?, City of Santa Ana (government). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- SolarAPP+ Automated Solar Plan Review, City of Santa Ana (government). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- Self-Generation Incentive Program (SGIP), California Public Utilities Commission (cpuc). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- SGIP - Statewide Announcements / About, Self-Generation Incentive Program (statewide administrator site) (program_administrator). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- Frequently Asked Questions, Orange County Power Authority (government). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 2026 Self-Generation Incentive Program Handbook, Self-Generation Incentive Program Program Administrators (program_administrator). Accessed 2026-08-26.
- SGIP Program Metrics and Incentive Step Tracker, Self-Generation Incentive Program Program Administrators (program_administrator). Accessed 2026-08-26.
Frequently Asked Questions
What utility serves solar customers in Santa Ana, California?
Southern California Edison (SCE) is the interconnection and distribution utility for Santa Ana. The same utility is also listed as the default electricity generation supplier.
How long does a residential solar permit take in Santa Ana?
The city's own page describes SolarAPP+ as providing instant plan review, with revision requests 'processed within 72 business hours,' but does not state an overall submission-to-final-inspection timeline. No specific day range is recorded since none was directly stated for the full permit-to-completion process.
What documents are required for a solar permit in Santa Ana?
Commonly required documents include: SolarAPP+ Approval Document & Specifications.
Who do I contact about solar permits in Santa Ana?
City of Santa Ana Building Safety Division, phone (714) 647-5800.
Related cities
Related cities
Other verified cities related to Santa Ana. See all cities on the California solar permit guide index.
- Aliso Viejo, Southern California Edison (SCE)
- Anaheim, Anaheim Public Utilities (APU)
- Brea, Southern California Edison (SCE)
- Buena Park, Southern California Edison (SCE)
- Costa Mesa, Southern California Edison (SCE)
- Cypress, Southern California Edison (SCE)