Louisiana / Local permit guide
Baton Rouge Solar Permit Guide
Your local requirements. The official sources. A clearer next step.
- Permit authority
- City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish, Department of Public Works Permit & Inspection DivisionSource linked
- Electric utility
- Entergy LouisianaSource linked
- Local pathway
- Not yet verified.
- Review time
- 7 daysSee source scope and conditions below.
East Baton Rouge Parish ·
Jump to a section
Planning a new solar project? See the homeowner quote option →
Research coverage
Your permit path,
at a glance.
This shows what GridPermit has verified for Baton Rouge. It does not show the status of a specific project.
- 01Permit authorityCity of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish, Department of Public Works Permit & Inspection DivisionAuthority sourced
- 02DocumentsChecklist includes conditional itemsConditions apply
- 03InspectionCurrent inspection sequence needs confirmationNot verified
- 04Utility & PTOEntergy LouisianaUtility path sourced
01 / Know your path
Two approvals.
One project.
Permit & inspection
City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish, Department of Public Works Permit & Inspection Division
Local requirementsA local permit and utility permission to operate are different approvals. Check the local sequence and requirements below.
How to read this guide
GridPermit collects Louisiana residential solar and permitting facts directly from official sources (city, county, and state government sites, utilities, and public utilities commissions) and shows only what we can verify, with a confidence score and a link to where it came from. Nothing here is estimated or inferred beyond what's stated below. See our methodology for the rules this page follows.
Permit timeline
7 days
Per the City's own FAQ, verbatim: 'Residential plan reviews will be completed within seven (7) business days after receipt of all required information necessary in order to complete an initial review. Residential resubmittals will be reviewed within three (3) business days after receipt.' An optional Expedited Plan Review Service (via the MyGovernmentOnline portal) completes residential reviews within 3 business days instead (resubmittals within 2 business days) for an additional fee not stated on this page. This is the plan-review timeline specifically, not a full permit-to-inspection-complete timeline.
Sources & confidence
Battery/solar incentive program on record
No battery/storage incentive program is on record for this locality.
02 / Prepare your application
What you need.
Sources & confidence
Permit fees
- Residential Plan Review Fee: $60 (flat fee)
Per the City's own information sheet.
- Residential permit fee: $40 (flat fee)
Per the City's own information sheet: 'Commercial based on project valuation with a minimum of $60, Residential fee: $40.' Electrical and plumbing (water heating) permits are separate and not included in this figure.
Sources & confidence
Rebates on record
Rebates on record
Not yet verified.
Utility and generation supplier
Utility
Entergy Louisiana
Entergy Louisiana is Baton Rouge's well-established dominant electric utility (distinct from Entergy New Orleans, which serves the separate New Orleans market with its own net-metering rules).
Sources & confidence
Generation supplier
Entergy Louisiana (utility)
Some supporting official material could not be independently confirmed from the full source in GridPermit's latest review. Verify the current requirement with the authority before relying on it.
Sources & confidence
Interconnection
https://www.entergylouisiana.com/net-metering
Per Entergy Louisiana's own page: residential net metering covers systems up to 25kW AC. Systems installed by 2019-12-31 are grandfathered at full retail-rate crediting through 2034-12-31. Systems installed after 2019-12-31 use 'two-channel billing' under Rider Schedule DG: the customer pays full retail rate for all grid electricity purchased, while excess exported energy is credited separately at a fixed rate ($0.0259331/kWh, effective 2025-04-01) rather than at the retail rate — a materially lower-value structure than legacy net metering. Monthly bills cannot drop below the fixed Customer Charge; excess credits carry forward. These rules do not apply to Entergy New Orleans customers, who fall under a separate program.
Inspection steps
Not yet verified.
Eligibility constraints
- Property types: residential
- Max system size (AC): 25 kW
- Max system size (DC): Not yet verified.
- Max thermal capacity: Not yet verified.
- Program/pathway: Not yet verified.
- Other conditions:
- Electrical and plumbing (water heating) permits are separate from the base solar permit and are additionally required
- The 25kW AC figure recorded here reflects the statewide Entergy Louisiana residential net-metering cap, not a separate City/Parish permit-eligibility limit
Sources & confidence
Official contacts
Official contacts
- DPW Permit & Inspection Division, Plan Review Section, phone: 225-389-3105, official website
Need a solar installer who handles permits in Baton Rouge?
EnergySage is an independent solar marketplace where you can request property-specific pricing from installers familiar with local permitting.
Compare quotes from solar installers →You'll continue on EnergySage's website. GridPermit links to EnergySage as an independent third-party resource. This link is not currently tracked for compensation.
Official sources
Official sources
- Solar Permit Information, City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish, DPW Permit & Inspection Division (government). Accessed 2026-08-13.
- Net metering and distributed generation, Entergy Louisiana (utility). Accessed 2026-08-13.
- FAQs - What is the Expedited Plan Review Service?, City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish (government). Accessed 2026-08-14.
Frequently Asked Questions
What utility serves solar customers in Baton Rouge, Louisiana?
Entergy Louisiana is the interconnection and distribution utility for Baton Rouge. The same utility is also listed as the default electricity generation supplier.
How long does a residential solar permit take in Baton Rouge?
Per the City's own FAQ, verbatim: 'Residential plan reviews will be completed within seven (7) business days after receipt of all required information necessary in order to complete an initial review. Residential resubmittals will be reviewed within three (3) business days after receipt.' An optional Expedited Plan Review Service (via the MyGovernmentOnline portal) completes residential reviews within 3 business days instead (resubmittals within 2 business days) for an additional fee not stated on this page. This is the plan-review timeline specifically, not a full permit-to-inspection-complete timeline.
What documents are required for a solar permit in Baton Rouge?
Commonly required documents include: Completed Plan Review application with the plan review fee; Manufacturer documentation showing the mounting/racking system withstands a 105mph wind load, including bolt size, length, and connection spacing to the roof (existing rafters must have purlin bracing installed if not already present); Frame details with setbacks; Plot plan showing the location of solar panels, disconnect(s), inverter, electric meter(s), and batteries (if used); Electrical plan (riser diagram) showing system wiring/connection to the building's electrical system, including wire size/type, grounding, overcurrent protection rating, and disconnects; Manufacturer specifications for the solar panel and inverter, including ratings and overcurrent protection; Plumbing plan including pipe size/type, exchange tank location, backup water heater, pump, and whether the heat exchanger coil directly contacts potable water; requires separate East Baton Rouge Parish Health Unit approval; Design Supervision Statement.
Who do I contact about solar permits in Baton Rouge?
DPW Permit & Inspection Division, Plan Review Section, phone 225-389-3105.