Independent Educational Guide: California residential solar permit facts, sourced, dated, and confidence-scored. Not legal, engineering, or permit advice.

Banning Solar Permit Guide

Banning Electric Utility (BEU) territory · Riverside County

✓ Last verified 2026-08-113 official sources
Informational only. This page is not legal, engineering, or permit advice. Every fact below links to the official source it came from and shows how confident we are in it. Verify current requirements with City of Banning Electric Utility and BEU before making a decision.

Overview

GridPermit collects California residential solar and permitting facts directly from official sources (city, county, and state government sites, utilities, and public utilities commissions) and shows only what we can verify, with a confidence score and a link to where it came from. Nothing here is estimated or inferred beyond what's stated below. See our methodology for the rules this page follows.

Permit timeline

Not yet verified.

The City's own Program Guidelines PDF states two sequential Electric Utility review stages, each with an explicit ceiling: 'the application review process can take up to forty-five (45) days from the date a completed application...are received,' followed by 'the plan check process can take up to forty-five (45) days from the date completed plans are received' (up to 90 days combined). This covers only the Electric Utility's own application/plan-check stages; it does not include the separate City of Banning Building and Safety Department's own plan check/permitting time, which is not stated in this document.

Confidence: Medium (0.7)

Source(s): City of Banning Electric Utility - Residential Self Generating Facility Program Photovoltaic Systems (Program Description and Guidelines)

Battery/solar incentive program on record

No battery/storage incentive program is on record for this locality.

Permit fees

  • Production Meter (contribution in aid of construction): $245 (flat fee)
  • Application/plan-check/inspection review (up to 3 plan checks and up to 3 inspections): $255 (flat fee)
  • Additional plan check or inspection beyond the included set: $60 (per occurrence (minimum))

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): City of Banning Electric Utility - Residential Self Generating Facility Program Photovoltaic Systems (Program Description and Guidelines)

Rebates

Not yet verified.

Utility and generation supplier

Utility

Banning Electric Utility (BEU)

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Solar, Incorporated Cities and Counties Served by SCE (Banning confirmed absent from this list)

Generation supplier

Banning Electric Utility (BEU) (utility)

BEU is a vertically-integrated municipal utility (like Riverside Public Utilities, Burbank Water and Power, and Glendale Water and Power) — it procures and delivers its own power (a mixed portfolio including nuclear, geothermal, solar, landfill gas-to-energy, and hydro, reported 54% renewable in 2021) rather than sitting alongside a separate CCA. No Community Choice Aggregator was found serving Banning in the sources reviewed this session.

Confidence: High (0.8)

Source(s): Solar

Interconnection

https://banningca.gov/573/Solar

Banning Electric Utility's own solar program page, which hosts the Solar Application form and interconnection-related program guidelines.

Confidence: Medium (0.7)

Permit authority

City of Banning Electric Utility

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): Solar

Permit page: https://banningca.gov/573/Solar

Required documents

  • Solar Application form (required when: always)
  • PV Application Checklist (Rev 3-3-20) (required when: always)
  • Panel Upgrade Questionnaire (required when: conditional)

Confidence: High (0.8)

Source(s): Solar

Inspection steps

  • The Electric Utility MUST be contacted first for inspection, at (951) 922-3260
  • The Electric Utility inspects the complete PV system (module/inverter placement, disconnects, placarding, production meter socket, back-feed voltage, clearances) against the approved plans
  • Upon passing, the Electric Utility signs off on the Job Card/Permit and advises City of Banning Building and Safety, at which point the customer/contractor can schedule the City's own Building and Safety inspection
  • The Job Card/Permit must be onsite at the time of inspection

Per the City's own 'Residential Self Generating Facility Program - Photovoltaic Systems' guidelines PDF, Section C (Electric Utility Inspection Process).

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): City of Banning Electric Utility - Residential Self Generating Facility Program Photovoltaic Systems (Program Description and Guidelines)

Eligibility constraints

  • Property types: residential
  • Max system size (AC): Not yet verified.
  • Max system size (DC): Not yet verified.
  • Max thermal capacity: Not yet verified.
  • Program/pathway: Residential Self Generating Facility Program (Photovoltaic Systems)
  • Other conditions:
    • Participant must be a City of Banning electric service customer at the address where service is provided
    • PV system sized not to exceed 100% of the participant's annual electrical usage; Energy Storage Systems sized according to the PV system
    • A City-owned Production Meter is required to monitor system production, at the participant's/contractor's cost
    • Requires approval from both the Electric Utility and the City of Banning Building and Safety Department (application, plan check, and inspection) before interconnection

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): City of Banning Electric Utility - Residential Self Generating Facility Program Photovoltaic Systems (Program Description and Guidelines)

Official contacts

Confidence: High (0.85)

Need a solar installer who handles permits in Banning?

EnergySage is an independent solar marketplace where you can request property-specific pricing from installers familiar with local permitting.

Compare quotes from solar installers →

You'll continue on EnergySage's website. GridPermit has a partner relationship with EnergySage; this link is not currently tracked, and whether the partnership results in compensation to GridPermit has not yet been confirmed.

Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

What utility serves solar customers in Banning, California?

Banning Electric Utility (BEU) is the interconnection and distribution utility for Banning. The default electricity generation supplier is Banning Electric Utility (BEU), a utility, separate from Banning Electric Utility (BEU).

How long does a residential solar permit take in Banning?

The City's own Program Guidelines PDF states two sequential Electric Utility review stages, each with an explicit ceiling: 'the application review process can take up to forty-five (45) days from the date a completed application...are received,' followed by 'the plan check process can take up to forty-five (45) days from the date completed plans are received' (up to 90 days combined). This covers only the Electric Utility's own application/plan-check stages; it does not include the separate City of Banning Building and Safety Department's own plan check/permitting time, which is not stated in this document.

What documents are required for a solar permit in Banning?

Commonly required documents include: Solar Application form; PV Application Checklist (Rev 3-3-20); Panel Upgrade Questionnaire.

Who do I contact about solar permits in Banning?

City of Banning Electric Utility, phone 951-922-3100.