Independent Educational Guide: Louisiana residential solar permit facts, sourced, dated, and confidence-scored. Not legal, engineering, or permit advice.

Baton Rouge Solar Permit Guide

Entergy Louisiana territory · East Baton Rouge Parish

✓ Last verified 2026-08-143 official sources
Informational only. This page is not legal, engineering, or permit advice. Every fact below links to the official source it came from and shows how confident we are in it. Verify current requirements with City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish, Department of Public Works Permit & Inspection Division and Entergy Louisiana before making a decision.

Overview

GridPermit collects Louisiana residential solar and permitting facts directly from official sources (city, county, and state government sites, utilities, and public utilities commissions) and shows only what we can verify, with a confidence score and a link to where it came from. Nothing here is estimated or inferred beyond what's stated below. See our methodology for the rules this page follows.

Permit timeline

7 days

Per the City's own FAQ, verbatim: 'Residential plan reviews will be completed within seven (7) business days after receipt of all required information necessary in order to complete an initial review. Residential resubmittals will be reviewed within three (3) business days after receipt.' An optional Expedited Plan Review Service (via the MyGovernmentOnline portal) completes residential reviews within 3 business days instead (resubmittals within 2 business days) for an additional fee not stated on this page. This is the plan-review timeline specifically, not a full permit-to-inspection-complete timeline.

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): FAQs - What is the Expedited Plan Review Service?

Battery/solar incentive program on record

No battery/storage incentive program is on record for this locality.

Permit fees

  • Residential Plan Review Fee: $60 (flat fee)

    Per the City's own information sheet.

  • Residential permit fee: $40 (flat fee)

    Per the City's own information sheet: 'Commercial based on project valuation with a minimum of $60, Residential fee: $40.' Electrical and plumbing (water heating) permits are separate and not included in this figure.

Confidence: High (0.95)

Source(s): Solar Permit Information

Rebates

Not yet verified.

Utility and generation supplier

Utility

Entergy Louisiana

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): Net metering and distributed generation

Generation supplier

Entergy Louisiana (utility)

No Community Choice Aggregator was found serving Baton Rouge's residential solar customers this session; Entergy Louisiana is recorded as both the distribution and default generation utility.

Confidence: Medium (0.55)

Source(s): Net metering and distributed generation

Interconnection

https://www.entergylouisiana.com/net-metering

Per Entergy Louisiana's own page: residential net metering covers systems up to 25kW AC. Systems installed by 2019-12-31 are grandfathered at full retail-rate crediting through 2034-12-31. Systems installed after 2019-12-31 use 'two-channel billing' under Rider Schedule DG: the customer pays full retail rate for all grid electricity purchased, while excess exported energy is credited separately at a fixed rate ($0.0259331/kWh, effective 2025-04-01) rather than at the retail rate — a materially lower-value structure than legacy net metering. Monthly bills cannot drop below the fixed Customer Charge; excess credits carry forward. These rules do not apply to Entergy New Orleans customers, who fall under a separate program.

Confidence: High (0.9)

Permit authority

City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish, Department of Public Works Permit & Inspection Division

The Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code (LSUCC) is a genuinely mandatory statewide code (adopting the 2021 I-Codes with Louisiana amendments plus the NEC) — no parish or municipality may adopt a more or less stringent code, a uniquely uniform statewide baseline compared to several other states researched this session. Enforcement is local: Baton Rouge/East Baton Rouge Parish's own consolidated DPW Permit & Inspection Division is the AHJ.

Confidence: High (0.95)

Source(s): Solar Permit Information

Permit page: https://www.brla.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1674/Solar-Permit-Requirements

Required documents

  • Completed Plan Review application with the plan review fee (required when: always)
  • Manufacturer documentation showing the mounting/racking system withstands a 105mph wind load, including bolt size, length, and connection spacing to the roof (existing rafters must have purlin bracing installed if not already present) (required when: roof-mounted systems)
  • Frame details with setbacks (required when: ground-mounted (not roof-mounted) systems)
  • Plot plan showing the location of solar panels, disconnect(s), inverter, electric meter(s), and batteries (if used) (required when: always)
  • Electrical plan (riser diagram) showing system wiring/connection to the building's electrical system, including wire size/type, grounding, overcurrent protection rating, and disconnects (required when: always)
  • Manufacturer specifications for the solar panel and inverter, including ratings and overcurrent protection (required when: always)
  • Plumbing plan including pipe size/type, exchange tank location, backup water heater, pump, and whether the heat exchanger coil directly contacts potable water; requires separate East Baton Rouge Parish Health Unit approval (required when: solar hot water systems)
  • Design Supervision Statement (required when: engineered roof designs)

Confidence: High (0.95)

Source(s): Solar Permit Information

Inspection steps

Not yet verified.

Eligibility constraints

  • Property types: residential
  • Max system size (AC): 25 kW
  • Max system size (DC): Not yet verified.
  • Max thermal capacity: Not yet verified.
  • Program/pathway: Not yet verified.
  • Other conditions:
    • Electrical and plumbing (water heating) permits are separate from the base solar permit and are additionally required
    • The 25kW AC figure recorded here reflects the statewide Entergy Louisiana residential net-metering cap, not a separate City/Parish permit-eligibility limit

Confidence: High (0.8)

Source(s): Solar Permit Information, Net metering and distributed generation

Official contacts

  • DPW Permit & Inspection Division, Plan Review Section, phone: 225-389-3105, official website

Confidence: High (0.9)

Need a solar installer who handles permits in Baton Rouge?

EnergySage is an independent solar marketplace where you can request property-specific pricing from installers familiar with local permitting.

Compare quotes from solar installers →

You'll continue on EnergySage's website. GridPermit has a partner relationship with EnergySage; this link is not currently tracked, and whether the partnership results in compensation to GridPermit has not yet been confirmed.

Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

What utility serves solar customers in Baton Rouge, Louisiana?

Entergy Louisiana is the interconnection and distribution utility for Baton Rouge. The default electricity generation supplier is Entergy Louisiana, a utility, separate from Entergy Louisiana.

How long does a residential solar permit take in Baton Rouge?

Per the City's own FAQ, verbatim: 'Residential plan reviews will be completed within seven (7) business days after receipt of all required information necessary in order to complete an initial review. Residential resubmittals will be reviewed within three (3) business days after receipt.' An optional Expedited Plan Review Service (via the MyGovernmentOnline portal) completes residential reviews within 3 business days instead (resubmittals within 2 business days) for an additional fee not stated on this page. This is the plan-review timeline specifically, not a full permit-to-inspection-complete timeline.

What documents are required for a solar permit in Baton Rouge?

Commonly required documents include: Completed Plan Review application with the plan review fee; Manufacturer documentation showing the mounting/racking system withstands a 105mph wind load, including bolt size, length, and connection spacing to the roof (existing rafters must have purlin bracing installed if not already present); Frame details with setbacks; Plot plan showing the location of solar panels, disconnect(s), inverter, electric meter(s), and batteries (if used); Electrical plan (riser diagram) showing system wiring/connection to the building's electrical system, including wire size/type, grounding, overcurrent protection rating, and disconnects; Manufacturer specifications for the solar panel and inverter, including ratings and overcurrent protection; Plumbing plan including pipe size/type, exchange tank location, backup water heater, pump, and whether the heat exchanger coil directly contacts potable water; requires separate East Baton Rouge Parish Health Unit approval; Design Supervision Statement.

Who do I contact about solar permits in Baton Rouge?

DPW Permit & Inspection Division, Plan Review Section, phone 225-389-3105.