Quick findGo anywhere.

Press ↵ to search · Esc to close

California / Local permit guide

Hayward Solar Permit Guide

Your local requirements. The official sources. A clearer next step.

Electric utility
Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)Source linked
Local pathway
'Solar Tuesday' over-the-counter review programProject-specific eligibility conditions apply.
Review time
0–7 daysSee source scope and conditions below.
See your permit path

Alameda County · Explore related utility guides

Source healthLast verified 2026-08-038 official sources6 of 6 core facts verified
Jump to a section
Informational only. This page is not legal, engineering, or permit advice. Every fact below links to the official source it came from and shows how confident we are in it. Verify current requirements with City of Hayward Development Services Department (Building Division / 'Solar Tuesday' program) and PG&E before making a decision.

Research coverage

Your permit path,
at a glance.

This shows what GridPermit has verified for Hayward. It does not show the status of a specific project.

  1. 01Permit authorityCity of Hayward Development Services Department (Building Division / 'Solar Tuesday' program)Authority sourced
  2. 02DocumentsChecklist includes conditional itemsConditions apply
  3. 03InspectionInspection guidance for HaywardSteps sourced
  4. 04Utility & PTOPacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)Utility path sourced

01 / Know your path

Two approvals.
One project.

Local authority

Permit & inspection

City of Hayward Development Services Department (Building Division / 'Solar Tuesday' program)

Local requirements
Electric utility

Interconnection & PTO

Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)

Utility requirements

A local permit and utility permission to operate are different approvals. Check the local sequence and requirements below.

How to read this guide

GridPermit collects California residential solar and permitting facts directly from official sources (city, county, and state government sites, utilities, and public utilities commissions) and shows only what we can verify, with a confidence score and a link to where it came from. Nothing here is estimated or inferred beyond what's stated below. See our methodology for the rules this page follows.

Permit timeline

0–7 days

The Residential Solar Requirements handout states: 'Flush mounted solar panel installations (less than 10 kilowatts) for single-family homes are reviewed over the counter when submitted on Tuesdays from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. as part of Hayward's "Solar Tuesday" program. If not submitted on Tuesday, the application will be taken in and reviewed by the following Tuesday.' This implies same-day (0 days) review for eligible projects submitted during the Tuesday window, or up to about a week's wait if submitted on another day. Non-flush-mounted systems requiring structural calculations are not covered by this over-the-counter timeline.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): Residential Solar Requirements (Revised 4-8-20)

Battery/solar incentive program on record

California SGIP - current category and budget check required

New applications and waitlist applications for ratepayer-funded SGIP budgets closed on December 30, 2025. New AB 209 applications have a June 30, 2028 deadline. The 2026 SGIP rate table publishes $3.10/W for solar and $1.10/Wh for storage in applicable Residential Solar and Storage Equity categories. Household eligibility and live budget availability vary by category and program administrator; check the official Program Metrics tracker before relying on an incentive.

Status on file: unknown. Verify current status before relying on this.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): SGIP - Statewide Announcements / About, 2026 Self-Generation Incentive Program Handbook, SGIP Program Metrics and Incentive Step Tracker

02 / Prepare your application

What you need.

0 of 6 markedSaved only on this device; not confirmation of permit readiness.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Residential Solar Requirements (Revised 4-8-20)

Permit fees

  • Residential Solar Panel Permit Fee (flush-mounted systems): $300 (flat fee, includes plan review and inspection)

    'Single-family residential solar panel permit fees are subsidized by the City to encourage their installation. There is a total flat fee of $300 for flush mounted systems. This includes plan review and inspection.'

  • Structural Review Fee (non-flush-mounted or unconventional mounting): amount not verified (hourly)

    'For installations that require structural calculations such as non-flush mounted panels or unconventional mounting, additional structural review fees will apply.' Hourly rate not stated on this document.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Residential Solar Requirements (Revised 4-8-20)

Rebates on record

Rebates on record

Not yet verified.

Utility and generation supplier

Utility

Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)

City of Hayward's own announcement confirms: 'Beginning with your next billing cycle, the generation page of your PG&E bill will show the Ava name' — PG&E remains the underlying transmission/distribution/billing utility, with Ava Community Energy as a separate default generation supplier (see generation_supplier).

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): East Bay Community Energy Becomes Ava Community Energy

Generation supplier

Ava Community Energy (formerly East Bay Community Energy) (Community Choice Aggregator)

Per the City of Hayward's own announcement: 'In 2018, the City of Hayward voted to change our default energy provider from PG&E to Ava Community Energy, formerly East Bay Community Energy (EBCE).' The specific default product/tier name (e.g. Renewable 100 vs. Bright Choice) is not stated on this page, unlike the Berkeley and San Leandro records, so it is left unspecified here rather than assumed.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): East Bay Community Energy Becomes Ava Community Energy

Interconnection

https://www.pge.com/en/about/doing-business-with-pge/interconnections/net-energy-metering-program.html

Some supporting official material could not be independently confirmed from the full source in GridPermit's latest review. Verify the current requirement with the authority before relying on it.

Confidence: Medium (0.6)

Permit authority

City of Hayward Development Services Department (Building Division / 'Solar Tuesday' program)

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Residential Solar Requirements (Revised 4-8-20)

Permit page: https://www.hayward-ca.gov/sites/default/files/documents/005-Residential-Solar-Checklist.pdf

Inspection steps

  • Final Building Inspection must be called for before 11:30pm the night before the requested day of inspection
  • Permit holder must provide a safe ladder (free of defects, rated for a minimum of 250 pounds, extending 3 feet above the roof and secured to the building) — inspection may fail without safe roof access
  • Smoke and Carbon Monoxide alarm inspection: residence must be open for electrical inspection of Smoke & CO detectors in all locations designated by the California Residential Code (halls and bedrooms at each level); a Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm Self-Certification may be submitted to the Building Inspector during Final Inspection as an exception
Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Residential Solar Requirements (Revised 4-8-20)

Eligibility constraints

  • Property types: single-family
  • Max system size (AC): 10 kW
  • Max system size (DC): Not yet verified.
  • Max thermal capacity: Not yet verified.
  • Program/pathway: 'Solar Tuesday' over-the-counter review program
  • Other conditions:
    • Must be flush-mounted; panels tilted at a steeper angle than the roof require engineer-stamped structural calculations and are not eligible for the over-the-counter Solar Tuesday review
    • Projects within Hayward's Airport Safety Zone require an FAA 'No Hazard' finding (Form 7460-1 plus a glare study) before a permit can be issued, regardless of system size
Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Residential Solar Requirements (Revised 4-8-20)

Official contacts

Official contacts

Confidence: High (0.85)

Need a solar installer who handles permits in Hayward?

EnergySage is an independent solar marketplace where you can request property-specific pricing from installers familiar with local permitting.

Compare quotes from solar installers →

You'll continue on EnergySage's website. GridPermit links to EnergySage as an independent third-party resource. This link is not currently tracked for compensation.

Official sources

Official sources

Frequently Asked Questions

What utility serves solar customers in Hayward, California?

Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) is the interconnection and distribution utility for Hayward. The default electricity generation supplier is Ava Community Energy (formerly East Bay Community Energy), a Community Choice Aggregator (CCA), separate from Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E).

How long does a residential solar permit take in Hayward?

The Residential Solar Requirements handout states: 'Flush mounted solar panel installations (less than 10 kilowatts) for single-family homes are reviewed over the counter when submitted on Tuesdays from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. as part of Hayward's "Solar Tuesday" program. If not submitted on Tuesday, the application will be taken in and reviewed by the following Tuesday.' This implies same-day (0 days) review for eligible projects submitted during the Tuesday window, or up to about a week's wait if submitted on another day. Non-flush-mounted systems requiring structural calculations are not covered by this over-the-counter timeline.

What documents are required for a solar permit in Hayward?

Commonly required documents include: Roof Plan (north arrow, required Fire Department access clearances, location of disconnects/service panel/inverter); Attachment Details and Structural Information (listed mounting hardware, cut sheets, flashing/counter-flashing details); Structural calculations, stamped and signed by an engineer; Single Line Diagram (with cut sheets for inverters, disconnects, and PV modules; must communicate compliance with California Electrical Code Articles 690 & 705); Required Warning Labels diagram (per California Electrical Code Article 690: conduit/enclosure labels, main service disconnect label, inverter label, directory plaque if applicable); FAA Form 7460-1 and a glare study (Solar Glare Hazard Analysis Tool).

Who do I contact about solar permits in Hayward?

City of Hayward Development Services Department / Permit Center, phone 510-583-4140.