Quick findGo anywhere.

Press ↵ to search · Esc to close

California / Local permit guide

Oakland Solar Permit Guide

Your local requirements. The official sources. A clearer next step.

Electric utility
Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)Source linked
Local pathway
SolarAPP+ (same-day residential rooftop solar permit)Project-specific eligibility conditions apply.
Review time
Same-day review for eligible expedited-permit projectsNo verified standard-path permit timeline is available.See source scope and conditions below.
See your permit path

Alameda County · Explore related utility guides

Source healthLast verified 2026-08-099 official sources5 of 6 core facts verified
Jump to a section
Informational only. This page is not legal, engineering, or permit advice. Every fact below links to the official source it came from and shows how confident we are in it. Verify current requirements with City of Oakland Planning & Building Department - Building Services and PG&E before making a decision.

Research coverage

Your permit path,
at a glance.

This shows what GridPermit has verified for Oakland. It does not show the status of a specific project.

  1. 01Permit authorityCity of Oakland Planning & Building Department - Building ServicesAuthority sourced
  2. 02DocumentsChecklist includes conditional itemsConditions apply
  3. 03InspectionInspection guidance for OaklandSteps sourced
  4. 04Utility & PTOPacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)Utility path sourced

01 / Know your path

Two approvals.
One project.

Local authority

Permit & inspection

City of Oakland Planning & Building Department - Building Services

Local requirements
Electric utility

Interconnection & PTO

Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)

Utility requirements

A local permit and utility permission to operate are different approvals. Check the local sequence and requirements below.

How to read this guide

GridPermit collects California residential solar and permitting facts directly from official sources (city, county, and state government sites, utilities, and public utilities commissions) and shows only what we can verify, with a confidence score and a link to where it came from. Nothing here is estimated or inferred beyond what's stated below. See our methodology for the rules this page follows.

Permit timeline

Same-day review for eligible expedited-permit projects

No verified standard-path permit timeline is available.

Same-day approval for SolarAPP+-eligible residential rooftop systems, per source. The source also states SolarAPP+ 'cuts approval time by an average of 5 days' versus standard permitting, but does not state an absolute timeline for standard (non-SolarAPP+) permits — that comparison is a relative figure, not an absolute one, so no range is recorded for the standard path.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: Medium (0.75)

Source(s): Solar Energy Systems & Facilities

Battery/solar incentive program on record

California SGIP - current category and budget check required

New applications and waitlist applications for ratepayer-funded SGIP budgets closed on December 30, 2025. New AB 209 applications have a June 30, 2028 deadline. The 2026 SGIP rate table publishes $3.10/W for solar and $1.10/Wh for storage in applicable Residential Solar and Storage Equity categories. Household eligibility and live budget availability vary by category and program administrator; check the official Program Metrics tracker before relying on an incentive.

Status on file: unknown. Verify current status before relying on this.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Self-Generation Incentive Program (SGIP), SGIP - Statewide Announcements / About, 2026 Self-Generation Incentive Program Handbook, SGIP Program Metrics and Incentive Step Tracker

02 / Prepare your application

What you need.

0 of 9 markedSaved only on this device; not confirmation of permit readiness.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): Solar Energy Systems & Facilities

Permit fees

The Solar Energy Systems & Facilities page does not state a fee amount. Some supporting official material could not be independently confirmed from the full source in GridPermit's latest review. Verify the current requirement with the authority before relying on it.

Not yet verified.

Rebates on record

Rebates on record

Not yet verified.

Utility and generation supplier

Utility

Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)

PG&E confirmed as the transmission/distribution, billing, and interconnection utility of record for Oakland (S2: Ava's own site states PG&E remains distribution/billing utility for Oakland customers). See generation_supplier for the separate generation supplier — a CCA, not PG&E, by default.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Oakland Electricity Provider, SGIP - Contact

Generation supplier

Ava Community Energy - 'Bright Choice' service (Community Choice Aggregator)

Oakland co-founded Ava (then East Bay Community Energy) in 2016 and has automatically enrolled residential, business, and municipal accounts in Ava's Bright Choice service since 2018. PG&E remains the distribution/billing utility; customers may opt out back to PG&E generation at any time. Per source, Bright Choice offers a 0.5% discount on electric supply versus PG&E rates (as of the source's stated snapshot date).

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Oakland Electricity Provider

Interconnection

https://www.pge.com/en/about/doing-business-with-pge/interconnections/net-energy-metering-program.html

Some supporting official material could not be independently confirmed from the full source in GridPermit's latest review. Verify the current requirement with the authority before relying on it.

Confidence: Medium (0.6)

Permit authority

City of Oakland Planning & Building Department - Building Services

Confirmed via direct retrieval of the Solar Energy Systems & Facilities page, which lists Planning & Building / Building Services contact details.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.9)

Source(s): Solar Energy Systems & Facilities

Permit page: https://www.oaklandca.gov/My-Household/Building-and-Remodeling/Homeowner-Projects-Permits/Solar-Energy-Systems-Facilities

Inspection steps

  • Inspections are scheduled through the City's mobile inspection app after permit issuance
  • The permit (format 'SE23######') and supporting documents must be available at the time of inspection

Source describes the scheduling mechanism and required documentation at inspection, but not a step-by-step inspection sequence comparable to Fremont's municipal code text.

Sources & confidence

Confidence: Medium (0.75)

Source(s): Solar Energy Systems & Facilities

Eligibility constraints

  • Property types: residential (main dwelling rooftop only)
  • Max system size (AC): Not yet verified.
  • Max system size (DC): Not yet verified.
  • Max thermal capacity: Not yet verified.
  • Program/pathway: SolarAPP+ (same-day residential rooftop solar permit)
  • Other conditions:
    • No ballasted systems
    • No building-integrated photovoltaic (BIPV) systems
    • California-licensed contractor required
    • Energy storage systems greater than 20 kWh require Fire Prevention Bureau approval
Sources & confidence

Confidence: High (0.85)

Source(s): Solar Energy Systems & Facilities

Official contacts

Official contacts

Confidence: High (0.85)

Need a solar installer who handles permits in Oakland?

EnergySage is an independent solar marketplace where you can request property-specific pricing from installers familiar with local permitting.

Compare quotes from solar installers →

You'll continue on EnergySage's website. GridPermit links to EnergySage as an independent third-party resource. This link is not currently tracked for compensation.

Official sources

Official sources

Frequently Asked Questions

What utility serves solar customers in Oakland, California?

Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) is the interconnection and distribution utility for Oakland. The default electricity generation supplier is Ava Community Energy - 'Bright Choice' service, a Community Choice Aggregator (CCA), separate from Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E).

How long does an expedited-eligible residential solar permit take in Oakland?

Same-day approval for SolarAPP+-eligible residential rooftop systems, per source. The source also states SolarAPP+ 'cuts approval time by an average of 5 days' versus standard permitting, but does not state an absolute timeline for standard (non-SolarAPP+) permits — that comparison is a relative figure, not an absolute one, so no range is recorded for the standard path. No verified standard-path permit timeline is available.

What documents are required for a solar permit in Oakland?

Commonly required documents include: SolarAPP+ Approval Number and Approval Document; SolarAPP+ Spec Sheet; Contractor's Declaration Form; Site plan identifying street and driveway; Roof plan showing fire access paths; Structural calculations; Mounting system information; Waste Recycling and Reduction Plan (WRRP) via Green Halo; Fire Prevention Bureau approval.

Who do I contact about solar permits in Oakland?

City of Oakland Planning & Building - Building Services, phone 510-238-3891.