Oakland Solar Permit Guide
Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) territory · Alameda County
Overview
GridPermit collects California residential solar and permitting facts directly from official sources (city, county, and state government sites, utilities, and public utilities commissions) and shows only what we can verify, with a confidence score and a link to where it came from. Nothing here is estimated or inferred beyond what's stated below. See our methodology for the rules this page follows.
Permit timeline
Same-day review for eligible expedited-permit projects
No verified standard-path permit timeline is available.
Same-day approval for SolarAPP+-eligible residential rooftop systems, per source. The source also states SolarAPP+ 'cuts approval time by an average of 5 days' versus standard permitting, but does not state an absolute timeline for standard (non-SolarAPP+) permits — that comparison is a relative figure, not an absolute one, so no range is recorded for the standard path.
Battery/solar incentive program on record
California SGIP - current category and budget check required
New applications and waitlist applications for ratepayer-funded SGIP budgets closed on December 30, 2025. New AB 209 applications have a June 30, 2028 deadline. The 2026 SGIP rate table publishes $3.10/W for solar and $1.10/Wh for storage in applicable Residential Solar and Storage Equity categories. Household eligibility and live budget availability vary by category and program administrator; check the official Program Metrics tracker before relying on an incentive.
Status on file: unknown. Verify current status before relying on this.
Permit fees
Not yet verified.
Rebates
Not yet verified.
Utility and generation supplier
Utility
Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)
Generation supplier
Ava Community Energy - 'Bright Choice' service (Community Choice Aggregator)
Oakland co-founded Ava (then East Bay Community Energy) in 2016 and has automatically enrolled residential, business, and municipal accounts in Ava's Bright Choice service since 2018. PG&E remains the distribution/billing utility; customers may opt out back to PG&E generation at any time. Per source, Bright Choice offers a 0.5% discount on electric supply versus PG&E rates (as of the source's stated snapshot date).
Interconnection
Same URL and same limitation as the San Jose and Fremont pilot records: confirmed to exist on PG&E's official domain via search engine indexing under the expected title, but pge.com returned HTTP 403 to direct fetch on every attempt this session (re-checked fresh for this record).
Required documents
- SolarAPP+ Approval Number and Approval Document (required when: SolarAPP+-eligible projects)
- SolarAPP+ Spec Sheet (required when: SolarAPP+-eligible projects)
- Contractor's Declaration Form (required when: SolarAPP+-eligible projects)
- Site plan identifying street and driveway (required when: standard (non-SolarAPP+) permit path)
- Roof plan showing fire access paths (required when: standard (non-SolarAPP+) permit path)
- Structural calculations (required when: ballasted, ground-mounted, or elevated systems)
- Mounting system information (required when: standard (non-SolarAPP+) permit path)
- Waste Recycling and Reduction Plan (WRRP) via Green Halo (required when: if a building permit is required)
- Fire Prevention Bureau approval (required when: energy storage systems greater than 20 kWh)
Inspection steps
- Inspections are scheduled through the City's mobile inspection app after permit issuance
- The permit (format 'SE23######') and supporting documents must be available at the time of inspection
Source describes the scheduling mechanism and required documentation at inspection, but not a step-by-step inspection sequence comparable to Fremont's municipal code text.
Eligibility constraints
- Property types: residential (main dwelling rooftop only)
- Max system size (AC): Not yet verified.
- Max system size (DC): Not yet verified.
- Max thermal capacity: Not yet verified.
- Program/pathway: SolarAPP+ (same-day residential rooftop solar permit)
- Other conditions:
- No ballasted systems
- No building-integrated photovoltaic (BIPV) systems
- California-licensed contractor required
- Energy storage systems greater than 20 kWh require Fire Prevention Bureau approval
Official contacts
- City of Oakland Planning & Building - Building Services, phone: 510-238-3891, official website
- SGIP Program Administrator (PG&E territory), phone: 415-973-6436, email: selfgen@pge.com, official website
Need a solar installer who handles permits in Oakland?
EnergySage is an independent solar marketplace where you can request property-specific pricing from installers familiar with local permitting.
Compare quotes from solar installers →You'll continue on EnergySage's website. GridPermit has a partner relationship with EnergySage; this link is not currently tracked, and whether the partnership results in compensation to GridPermit has not yet been confirmed.
Sources
- Solar Energy Systems & Facilities, City of Oakland (government). Accessed 2026-08-01.
- Oakland Electricity Provider, Ava Community Energy (Joint Powers Authority) (government). Accessed 2026-08-01.
- About Us, County of Alameda (government). Accessed 2026-08-01.
- Self-Generation Incentive Program (SGIP), California Public Utilities Commission (cpuc). Accessed 2026-08-01.
- SGIP - Statewide Announcements / About, Self-Generation Incentive Program (statewide administrator site) (program_administrator). Accessed 2026-08-01.
- SGIP - Contact, Self-Generation Incentive Program (statewide administrator site) (program_administrator). Accessed 2026-08-01.
- Net Energy Metering (NEM) Program | PG&E, Pacific Gas and Electric Company (utility). Accessed 2026-08-01.
- 2026 Self-Generation Incentive Program Handbook, Self-Generation Incentive Program Program Administrators (program_administrator). Accessed 2026-08-26.
- SGIP Program Metrics and Incentive Step Tracker, Self-Generation Incentive Program Program Administrators (program_administrator). Accessed 2026-08-26.
Frequently Asked Questions
What utility serves solar customers in Oakland, California?
Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) is the interconnection and distribution utility for Oakland. The default electricity generation supplier is Ava Community Energy - 'Bright Choice' service, a Community Choice Aggregator (CCA), separate from Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E).
How long does an expedited-eligible residential solar permit take in Oakland?
Same-day approval for SolarAPP+-eligible residential rooftop systems, per source. The source also states SolarAPP+ 'cuts approval time by an average of 5 days' versus standard permitting, but does not state an absolute timeline for standard (non-SolarAPP+) permits — that comparison is a relative figure, not an absolute one, so no range is recorded for the standard path. No verified standard-path permit timeline is available.
What documents are required for a solar permit in Oakland?
Commonly required documents include: SolarAPP+ Approval Number and Approval Document; SolarAPP+ Spec Sheet; Contractor's Declaration Form; Site plan identifying street and driveway; Roof plan showing fire access paths; Structural calculations; Mounting system information; Waste Recycling and Reduction Plan (WRRP) via Green Halo; Fire Prevention Bureau approval.
Who do I contact about solar permits in Oakland?
City of Oakland Planning & Building - Building Services, phone 510-238-3891.
Related California cities
Other verified cities related to Oakland. See all cities on the California solar permit guide index.